Argonne Leadership

UChicago Argonne, LLC

  • Robert J. Zimmer, President, the University of Chicago; Chairman, UChicago Argonne, LLC
  • Eric D. Isaacs, Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and National Laboratories; Chief Executive Officer, UChicago Argonne, LLC Board of Directors


The Argonne Directorate consists of Argonne’s most senior managers. They are:

  • Paul Kearns, Interim Laboratory Director
  • Alfred P. Sattelberger, Deputy Laboratory Director for Programs
  • Matt Tirrell, Deputy Laboratory Director for Science, Argonne National Laboratory; Pritzker Director of the Institute for Molecular Engineering, The University of Chicago

Associate Laboratory Directors

Associate Laboratory Directors report directly to the Argonne Directorate. Each Associate Laboratory Director manages a number of research divisions. Argonne’s Associate Laboratory Directors are:

  • Stephen K. Streiffer, Interim Associate Laboratory Director, Photon Sciences
  • Rick L. Stevens, Associate Laboratory Director, Computing, Environment and Life Sciences
  • Harry Weerts, Associate Laboratory Director, Physical Sciences and Engineering
  • Todd Combs, Interim Associate Laboratory Director, Energy and Global Security

Other Key Personnel

  • William S. Elias II, General Counsel
  • Elizabeth F. Dunn, Director, Environment, Safety and Quality Assurance
  • Jeffrey Purnell, Chief Financial Officer
  • Stuart Hannay, Chief Information Officer
  • Gail Stine, Director, Facilities Management and Services
  • Eleanor Taylor, Chief of Staff