Board of Governors

The Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory was established by UChicago Argonne, LLC. The Board’s role is to provide guidance, oversight, direction, and advice to Laboratory management with respect to scientific and technical issues, long-range objectives, budget and facility plans, cooperative research and development, outreach, and technology transfer, as well as personnel and staffing matters, and the relationship with the U. S. Department of Energy under the prime contract.


Allen Adler
Director of the Sensors and Electronics Laboratory at HRL Laboratories, LLC

Jane Delgado
President and CEO, National Alliance for Hispanic Health

AnnaMaria DeSalva
Consultant and Former Vice President, Corporate Communications, DuPont

Daniel Diermeier
Provost, University of Chicago

Byron L. Dorgan
Former U.S. Senator for North Dakota

Nancy P. Dorn
Vice President of Government Relations, General Electric (Retired)

Helmut Dosch
Chairman of the Board of Directors, DESY

Derek R.B. Douglas
Vice President for Civic Engagement, The University of Chicago

Polly Gault
Executive Vice President, Government Affairs, Edison International (Retired)

Melissa Gilliam
Vice Provost, The University of Chicago

Eric D. Isaacs
President, Carnegie Institution for Science

Ray O. Johnson
International Advisory Board, Terrestrial Energy
Former Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Timothy Killeen
President, University of Illinois

Paul Kearns
Director, Argonne National Laboratory

David Nirenberg
Executive Vice Provost, The University of Chicago

Angela Olinto
Dean, Division of Physical Sciences, The University of Chicago

Juan de Pablo
Vice President for National Laboratories, The University of Chicago

Pedro Pizarro
President and CEO, Edison International

Anne Pramaggiore
Senior Executive Vice President & CEO of Exelon Utilities

Thomas Rosenbaum
President, California Institute of Technology

John Sampson
Vice President, Manufacturing and Engineering, Olin Corporation

Morton Owen Schapiro
President, Northwestern University

Ed Seidel
Vice President for Economic Development and Innovation, University of Illinois

Steve Stevanovich
Founder, President and CEO of SGS Global Holdings

Angela B. Styles
Partner, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Joseph "Jay" Walsh
Vice President for Research, Northwestern University

Robert J. Zimmer
President, The University of Chicago